Adventures in the closet of doom.
Apr. 28th, 2009 02:07 pmAfter the furry alarm clock woke me, I still wasn't sure if I was getting up. Still not feeling great but apparently do not have swine flu. Probably it was just the AIDS and I'm fine now.
So I laid there and skimmed my friends list on fon. Saw a post in the lv comm asking for a couple things I could do, but I wasn't about to go offering my services to some random vegas person I didn't know, started to scroll down, went "wait, the chick in the userpicture looked familiar", scroll back up, and it's loopy! I have opera mini set on very small font so I see a lot on my teeny fon screen, so I rely on userpictures to tell me who's who most of the time and don't look at the names.
So I texted her, and said after I ate I'd go on a hunt for the elusive power cord to my beast printer/scanner/copier/fax/picturecardreader/probablygivesblowjobsifIcouldfindthatattachment, thing.
Since I've gone all linux on my desktop, I recently moved the beast into J's room for installing on his computer when I found the power cord. I used it with linux before on my dual boot, but being that it's a combo device, I couldn't do everything with it that the beast is capable of. Figured that it was far easier to put it on the windows machine and use it with the original HP drivers, and just network it so I can still print to it from the other machines.
THE BEAST PRINTER:
I then ventured into the closet of doom, rifled through a few boxes, and found several things right away that had been missing, but not quite yet the power cord.
I found my big ass silly sunglasses (yay), J's old fon, the remote for his DVD player that he was asking me where it was not a few weeks ago and I told him it was HIS remote so how should I know. My awesometastic pirate shot glasses, my nifty TP roll extender for the larger rolls so it doesn't rub against the side of the cupboard. And my HOT PINK glucometer.
So of course I put in a fresh pokeyguy and asked what my blood sugars are. 112, I'd just eaten, fine and dandy, my sugars are all behaving these days so I didn't really need to know. Ow my finger not used to it. Will be poking the Jman again though to see where he's at.
Back in the closet, next place I looked, POWER CORD!
See? I even labelled the damn thing so it wouldn't get confused with any other cords. I knew it was here cause I'd seen it when we moved in, but then couldn't remember where I'd seen it.
Installing the huge HP drivers now so it will again be usable for its scanny function. Need to get it some new inks so it can provide printing and copying as well.
So I laid there and skimmed my friends list on fon. Saw a post in the lv comm asking for a couple things I could do, but I wasn't about to go offering my services to some random vegas person I didn't know, started to scroll down, went "wait, the chick in the userpicture looked familiar", scroll back up, and it's loopy! I have opera mini set on very small font so I see a lot on my teeny fon screen, so I rely on userpictures to tell me who's who most of the time and don't look at the names.
So I texted her, and said after I ate I'd go on a hunt for the elusive power cord to my beast printer/scanner/copier/fax/picturecardreader/probablygivesblowjobsifIcouldfindthatattachment, thing.
Since I've gone all linux on my desktop, I recently moved the beast into J's room for installing on his computer when I found the power cord. I used it with linux before on my dual boot, but being that it's a combo device, I couldn't do everything with it that the beast is capable of. Figured that it was far easier to put it on the windows machine and use it with the original HP drivers, and just network it so I can still print to it from the other machines.
THE BEAST PRINTER:
I then ventured into the closet of doom, rifled through a few boxes, and found several things right away that had been missing, but not quite yet the power cord.
I found my big ass silly sunglasses (yay), J's old fon, the remote for his DVD player that he was asking me where it was not a few weeks ago and I told him it was HIS remote so how should I know. My awesometastic pirate shot glasses, my nifty TP roll extender for the larger rolls so it doesn't rub against the side of the cupboard. And my HOT PINK glucometer.
So of course I put in a fresh pokeyguy and asked what my blood sugars are. 112, I'd just eaten, fine and dandy, my sugars are all behaving these days so I didn't really need to know. Ow my finger not used to it. Will be poking the Jman again though to see where he's at.
Back in the closet, next place I looked, POWER CORD!
See? I even labelled the damn thing so it wouldn't get confused with any other cords. I knew it was here cause I'd seen it when we moved in, but then couldn't remember where I'd seen it.
Installing the huge HP drivers now so it will again be usable for its scanny function. Need to get it some new inks so it can provide printing and copying as well.
no subject
Date: 2009-04-28 09:15 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-04-28 09:30 pm (UTC)If your sugars are so bad that you're going to die in the howevermanyseconds it takes to find out your number, then 911 should have already been called before pokey even happens. And if it's an obvious low you've already attempted to force some sugar down yourself or person in question before bothering with mister pokey anyway.
I need to keep my eye out for that free offer again. J won't take the pink one with him anywhere. I'm not sure he'd even check himself at work besides. He's still in the "If I don't feel it, nothing's wrong" camp.
His dad can get up to 400 in blood sugar and not notice. The stubborn, it runs in the family.
no subject
Date: 2009-04-28 10:37 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-04-28 11:05 pm (UTC)When I was last testing J though, turned out he was having lows mid-afternoon. And we pinpointed that it happened when he didn't eat lunch or if he ate really really greesy food that day. He's been better at that, and once he knew what was going on he can feel it, and makes sure to grab a snack at work.
So hopefully we won't NEED more strips for quite a while.
no subject
Date: 2009-04-29 04:24 am (UTC)I tried sending you an email, but I have no clue if I even got your email address right. I trired remembering one from over four years ago. Mine is still the same.
Well, you guys take care, and if you don't mind waiting for a couple of weeks, I have a spare glucometer that's brand new, not even opened, that I can send you as soon as I get some money. I've been out of work due to some surgery I had done. I'll be struggling to catch up on bills and whatnot, but I'll try and get it out to you.
Again, take care everyone.
no subject
Date: 2009-04-29 04:39 am (UTC)Don't worry about it, I really don't think he'll take one to work with him yet, the meters aren't hard to get anyway, it's the strips. He actually eats 2-3 times a day now instead of the only dinner silliness he used to do.
He tries to say the blood sugar thing is my fault, that it didn't happen till I started getting him to eat lunch. pff! Everything just caught up with him is all. Plus with the running in the family.
I actually wasn't really concerned about it, figured it was just habit from helping you until meeting his dad and finding out it runs in the family, then we really paid attention to it. Like I said in comment above, DadJ gets up to 400 before he notices, and he still has a partly working pancreas, wtf.
I'm normal now though, they did an A1C on me when I went to weimar and I'm not even pre-diabetic anymore. My body still overreacts, makes too much insulin or too much the other thing at first, but it apparently corrects so quickly that it's just an oddity not an concern.
no subject
Date: 2009-04-29 06:06 am (UTC)Good news for me is that I no longer have the seizures and whatnot anymore. They stopped about three years ago, but the bad news is that everything else is falling apart, or just stopping. I'll resend that email.
I see that you guys moved. It's a nice looking place from what I can see. Looks a lot better than the one we all lived in. Kinda makes me sad and nostalgic. I'm just proud and happy for you guys that you're still kicking and not letting shit get to you, unlike me, where I let everything get to me and I cracked. I still live at home, still wish I was on my own, still afraid to be on my own, still letting my fears get the better of me and so I stand at a stalemate in life, doing what I do best; absolutely nothing.
You keep taking care of yourself, and make sure the J-Man takes care of himself. No matter what I've said in the past, you two were good friends, and even in my time away from you two, I've still wanted to talk to you both, but until now I let my stupid pride and pigheadedness get in the way. What with the time I have left now I figure why should I let stupid things like my pride and my mistakes get in my way, you know?