My weekend, in pictures.
Jan. 26th, 2009 01:23 am








On Friday I hopped a bus and met J after he got off work and we went to catch a $3 movie at Tropicana Cinemas for the first time since they re-re-opened. They don't seem to have a website again, yet. But it appears that they were bought by Regency Movies which is hopefully awesome as it's a company that's got a decent reputation for keeping second run theatres going.
We saw the new Bond flick, and I have to admit that I am now in the Daniel Craig camp. I still love the previous Bonds, but Craig (despite the omgEARS) is a much more realistic Bond.
We missed the first bit because we had ended up in some crazy Idon'tevenknow what, but then got into the proper theatre. I noticed that J's cup had EMOTICONS all over it.
I had a much smaller cup. so mine did not.
I also noticed that they had POPCORN SEASONINGS! so I got some poppycorn without the nasty oilbutter and just shook white cheddar flavouring on. SOGREAT. And my stomach didn't complain at all, which pretty much confirms the theory that it was just the coconut oil in the popcorn "butter" that was the problem. So now I know. NO BUTTER.
And now we apparently go back in time, as these next two are from LAST weekend, but that still fits the weekend theme, Yeah? Yeah. We picked up a cheapie little TV stand so we could actually put a TV on something in the living room. We hadn't even bothered to plug one in until then, cause there was nothing to set it on, and we were not wanting to resort to an ice chest.
It's temporary, it'll probably become J's TV stand in his room, later down the line.
Here I am, pinching my TV, natch.
And in real perspective with the rest of the livingroom
I have more livingroom pictures, but I'll probably put them in their proper gallery on FaceBook.
Which brings us to Today. Yay! Isn't time travel fun?
It was GROCERY DAY, so off we went with trusty rolly cart.
On the way out I saw a cd sitting on a utility box, I flipped it over and it looked like a tiny record. The record decoration on its top actually was even textured with grooves. They went all out. Pretty sure it wouldn't sound very nice on a record player though.
Walking up to our Smith's I noticed the signs on the Chinese place next door, I took this picture to remind myself of the price and hours for future reference. Chinese Buffets are hit and miss, but worth a try. Especially if it turns out to be good, it's cheap and close.
Totally was not intending to turn it into a theme. Started shopping and thought "I don't remember there being a huge display there." and then saw that it was covering up what used to be an in-store Chinese restaurant. Never tried it, apparently now never will. At least that particular incarnation.
Shopping done, walking home. Saw a bunch of plastic milk crates in the shrubbery by the road. Gathered them up, 7 in all, and brought them home with us. I had intended to make a shelf dealy and put in my room. But two of them have already been stolen for use as a stool on the front porch. I'm going to try to get him to put it on the balcony. Crates on the front porch seems a little too tacky.
Here are a few of them sitting in the diningroom.
Then it was time to put away groceries. I opened the fridge and was very annoyed. I don't like how the shelves were so I shoved a few things aside and looked to see if they were adjustable, they were! So I pulled everything out and redid the shelving arrangement. Didn't think to take a before.
I was ridiculously excited to find out that the little drawer guy and its neighboring shelf were two pieces. Originally they were both together and on the top, a bit lower than I have the half now. I'm so far very pleased with the configuration I have it in now. I love the area for the VERY TALL things. Though I think I might raise the little drawer just a bit, so I can put tortillas or other flat things, under it.
I didn't purposely turn most of the labels away for the picture, I just now noticed that. The little drawer has cheese, the left bottom drawer has froooots, and the right bottom drawer has veggies.
And now to the saddest part. THE HOT TUB IS CLOSED TILL MARCH.
We were totally looking forward to using it this weekend, also. Very sadberries.
Well that's all that I took pictures of, and now it's late so of course I can't remember anything else, so end of post.