hoveringsombrero: (omg eris)
[personal profile] hoveringsombrero
Hiya, let's have a bit of a state of the eris entry, shall we?

I've been friendsonly a lot recently and there's not always a logical reason to it. Well there's always an erislogical reason for it. So for those who only read public posts and mostly general updates for MeOfTheFuture, here's some of what's been going on.

I've been working my butt off at ChaCha.com which is a people-powered mobile search engine. You text in any question to chacha(242242), and first it goes to a middleman (I'M ONE OF THOSE) who fix your stupid typos and txt spk, and choose which category the subject matter of your question belongs on. And then it goes to a answerer, preferably one who knows a lot about the subject area of your query. They find the answer and send it back to your fon, often with a bit of funny if it is appropriate or fits.

You don't get charged unless your mobile plan doesn't give you free texts, then it's just your regular text charges from your plan, ChaCha doesn't charge anything. If you're in a targeted advertisement area you will often get an ad response to your query as well as your answer, but I don't think they sent any ads at any other time, no spam. Only in addition to a question response. I text in all the time, usually silly stuff and/or asking for whatever information I'm wondering about at the moment and I've never gotten any advert texts yet. But I have unlimited text messaging.

So if you're interested in earning some ChaCha pennies I'm sure you can figure out the url without there being any clicky and find the link on the site to apply. If you want my referral info or any other specific information from me, you'll have to ask me directly. LiveJournal seems to frown on anything that appears to be soliciting for moneymaking referrals.

So, I've been half-watching a lot of TV while trying to reach X amount of money before the ChaCha pay period ended (last night/today). I have a serious love/HATE relationship with TV adverts, and I don't particularly care for the smugness of the Mac vs PC ads, but "I'm a Mac / I'm a Delicious Pizza." really entertained me. As well as the Silence the stain ad I posted earlier. But the Gates/Seinfeld spots are uncomfortably recockulous and can just go away, please.

Also caught ScIQ Sundays on the Discovery channel yesterday and I very much enjoyed it.

Caught the "VMA remix" on MTV earlier and was quite impressed with several of the performances.
It's nice to see Kid Rock performing again instead of being random drama whore. I'm not always in the mood for his musical style or always care for it, but I like what he does, musically. If that makes any sense.

Christiana put on an almost early Madonna worthy-show. So much for crazy Brit being the heir apparent to that throne. Again I don't always care for what xtina DOES with her talent, but I think she's hugely talented and seems very in control of her career and life.

After weeks of middlemaning Jonas Brothers questions through ChaCha I unfortunately actually got to see what the hell they were. And WTF seriously? I fear the generation of girls obsessed with the purity brothers are going to turn into faghags. At least maybe that'll thin the herd a bit.

Speaking of an obvious non heir apparent to the Madonna throne; What the hell is a Katy Perry? Was there an unfilled vapid quota in the pop world(A: probably and/or always)? Has she eaten a sandwich THIS YEAR? And who's bright idea was it to let Queen TrendyBi cover Like A Virgin?

And final WTF of the VMAs. Kanye Jesus West. I really enjoyed his performance and song, and was very annoyed that I did. It reminded me of Seal, I like Seal. Stupid Kanye, go back to doing shit like Golddigger and stay away from my area.

Date: 2008-09-15 05:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] coldcontrol.livejournal.com
Yeah, Katy Perry is ten kinds of stupid. She went from an anti-homosexuality song, "Ur So Gay" (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ur_So_Gay), to her ridiculous kissed a girl bullshit song.

And uh, yeah. Young girls. Jonas Brothers and Twilight (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twilight_series), a self-insertion fanfic with vampires that sparkle pretending to be real literature. (No, I'm not kidding about anything (http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/Twilight) in that statement, except for the fact that it's not fanfic. Verify the sparkle.)

I think maybe there's something in the water.

Date: 2008-09-15 05:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] eris.livejournal.com
I've seen a lot of Twilight questions go by me in ChaCha, and have also not looked up to see what it is, now I'm not sure if I wanna click your link.

There was initially enough information in the questions to let me know it was a book so I categorized it as such and didn't look any further. Now I'm afraid.

Date: 2008-09-15 05:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] coldcontrol.livejournal.com
Cap'n my cap'n actually read the first book a while back, or at least part of it, and I had to repeatedly interrogate her if it actually had some of these things. It does.

It makes Harry Potter look like Dostoevsky.

Date: 2008-09-15 05:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] eris.livejournal.com
Oh god, I clicked 'em.

A "vegetarian vampire" seriously?

WHAT IS WRONG WITH KIDS THESE DAYS, oh shit, I just officially became old. Excuse me while I go register Republican and chase kids off my lawn with a shotgun.

Date: 2008-09-15 05:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] coldcontrol.livejournal.com
I registered WITH the Republicans for a change of address at the DMV, as they had a stand set up. I ticked the "non-associated independent" box, though, and teasingly asked the lady to not throw away my paperwork as I wasn't registering R.

She started grilling me about how the McCains were very nice people, and I explained that 1) McCain's goddamn old, and 2) Palin is scaryasfuck. She stuck to her "they're very nice!" stance.

Date: 2008-09-15 05:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] eris.livejournal.com
I will personally be going to the nearest SkyNet™ Voting Kiosk and writing in to vote on the Tigh/Roslin ticket. Because I personally welcome our machine overlords.

Consequently, do you have the clearance to be reading this response, citizen?

Profile

hoveringsombrero: (Default)
hoveringsombrero

January 2015

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 11:01 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios