hoveringsombrero: (Barcode)
[personal profile] hoveringsombrero
It has been brought to my attention that I never explained why of the going to court.





14/Oct/2004 Picked up my father from the airport, he had never seen the strip before so I decided to risk driving my unregistered car down the strip.
I got caught by a bike cop, ticketed for no registration and no insurance, had car taken away, and cop told me "don't bother showing up to court unless you can prove registration and insurance"

15/Oct/2004 Picked up my car from impound, couldn't afford to have it towed like you're legally suppose to, drove it towards home.
going Northbound on Jones, just past the Jones/Sahara intersection I went to make a left turn into a strip mall.
I was in the legal turn lane, traffic was stopped so all lanes stopped back far enough for me to sneak through.
Car came zipping up in the bike lane and SMASHED my lovely aquamarine Saturn zoomcar in the right-hand side of its nose, crushed my engine.

Cops showed up, determined that I was half at fault because I had the car on the road illegally, ticketed me again for insurance and additionally "unsafe turning motion"

I asked told that cop what the previous day's cop told me, to not show up to court to just pay the fines as I could if I couldn't prove registration and insurance, now that I HAD NO CAR what was I to do? Second cop re-stated what first had said, told me it was no longer important, to just pay the fines when I could.

I had received notification in the mail that my license was suspended,
and the huge fines I had no hope of paying.
I was told in the end of 2005, byboywhodoesnotspeaktome,
that if I went to court I could probably get the fines reduced.
I tried calling and asking about this, but never got a straight answer,
and was told that they don't accept partial payments.
I should have kept trying.

19/June/2006 I was driving home from work which ended at 8am, Westbound on the 215. In J's car, with expired tags. Highway patrol saw the tags and pulled me over as I was barely out of Henderson. Ran me. discovered that I apparently had FOUR BENCH WARRENTS.

Suddenly I was in handcuffs and in the back of a police car, took me to county and booked me.

By the time all that was over I had been awake 40 hours, 28 of that was spent in county lockup, in which the only friendly people and who gave me any useful information were the hookers in the tank with me.. I couldn't really eat their food, so I had juice, milk, and an orange while I was in. And finally ended up getting a half hour of sleep when I finally just passed out from exhaustion. It was cold, metro are assholes, the guards are abusive.

My lovely mother came and picked up my half dead, slurring, bruised in odd places, person, J ordered me Chinese food and was an absolute sweetheart. I slept forever. I was afraid to leave the house in short sleeves for two weeks after.

I still have permanent holes in my memory due to the sleep dep and such, I remember nothing of my shift at work that night, I had to try four or five times before I got my home number right when I was calling J from the cell, I have had horrible insomnia since.

It was a silly thing, it wouldn't have fucked me up so much if I hadn't been already so unhealthy.

Two months ago: About a week after all that jail nonsense, J's mother came and took the car back, this was expected eventually due to other reasons, this was just the final straw.

And finally, court. I had to appear for the original four tickets which got me bench warrented. Which turned out to be, 1 registration 2 insurance, and 1 "unsafe turning movement" Judge threw out the registration one on "time served" threw out one of the insurances cause it was redundant. Then he asked me to describe the accident. I did, he decided I made no unsafe turning movements and threw that one out also.

So I am only left with the max penalty for the one insurance, (which is still two thousand less than originally mailed to me) and a ticket for registration from being caught with the car on June 19.

And that's the story.

Court

Date: 2006-08-15 06:08 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
Damn Eris I am sorry that happened to you, sounds like a really shitty string of luck.
And by the way, guards are abusive everywhere!
Royce

Date: 2006-08-15 06:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xhappyx.livejournal.com
Damn! That is fucked up!

Profile

hoveringsombrero: (Default)
hoveringsombrero

January 2015

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios