Hey, this post really belongs over in earlyadopters ... it is, after all, the place for bitching about the degrading of the "early adopter" status!
However, if you spend any time in there (and look up folks' profiles) you'll see WHY the L.J. powers-that-be have pretty much abandoned the "early adopter" category ... about half the members over there are "hijacked" accounts! Many of the early accounts were abandoned over the years, and some of these kids managed to hack the passwords and take over the accounts ... but if you do the math, as often as not you'll find that the account was created when the current user was 11 years old!
Basically, for LJ/SixApart the "Early Adopter" category simply means "hacked accounts" these days, and they're not in a particular hurry to shower new features on them (despite there being many actual Early Adopters still out there) because of this.
I never added it to my friends list after you suggested I join it, so I did forget.
That is ass and suck.
But we all know *I* shoulda just been given a perm acct, ages ago, after all nakedparts got given perm status, I made nakedparts and started a highly copied thing, plus I'M ERIS.
Watch that you don't hit your head on my ego on the way to the reply button.
heh ...
Date: 2006-01-19 04:50 pm (UTC)However, if you spend any time in there (and look up folks' profiles) you'll see WHY the L.J. powers-that-be have pretty much abandoned the "early adopter" category ... about half the members over there are "hijacked" accounts! Many of the early accounts were abandoned over the years, and some of these kids managed to hack the passwords and take over the accounts ... but if you do the math, as often as not you'll find that the account was created when the current user was 11 years old!
Basically, for LJ/SixApart the "Early Adopter" category simply means "hacked accounts" these days, and they're not in a particular hurry to shower new features on them (despite there being many actual Early Adopters still out there) because of this.
Re: heh ...
Date: 2006-01-19 09:57 pm (UTC)so I did forget.
That is ass and suck.
But we all know *I* shoulda just been given a perm acct, ages ago,
after all nakedparts got given perm status,
I made nakedparts and started a highly copied thing,
plus I'M ERIS.
Watch that you don't hit your head on my ego on the way to the reply button.
=o