Jun. 8th, 2007

hoveringsombrero: (Default)
Apparently I post on my birthday more than I thought I did.
And bitch a lot.

I refrained this year, even the day before,
but apparently the only other time I succeeded in not posting, was the very first year, 2000.

2001
In which people on lj still paid attention to my birthday,
probably because I bitched about hating birthdays enough.

2002
Terrible proof that I have done things as lame as use "lol" for a subject line.

2003
A little depressing there.

2004
Less depressing, but stressy,
mother did the parent dragging along thing again in 2006 on the 8th.

2005
The year my "i" grew up.

And finally 2006
The year J and I got beds from mother for our birthday!
Two year of sleeping on air mattresses, lovely
hoveringsombrero: (omg eris)
Ah yes, this year, this day that's just ended.
As much as I've been dreading the big three zero,
I now feel rather silly,
especially now after looking back on the past years.

I either lost my birthday hate somewhere,
or the abject terror of turning OMGTHIRTY drowned it.

Birthday started at midnight,
I sat, frozen on the couch, from 10.30 on talking online to boyperson and staring at the clock,
very quietly panicking to death, trying my damnedest to make time slow down,
and then, in the last two minutes, I totally missed it, got up to get socks/shoes,
and came back and it was past midnight, and OMG HAPPY BIRTHDAY on my screen.

Sat there in mild shock, was actually somewhat amazed that I didn't feel any different.
Then J was off work and I walked to meet him.
We got a small something to eat at Mr. Lucky's,
then walked over to the doubledown and played some pool and had some ass juice.
I play pool, very badly, but I had fun.

Came home, sat about and then went to bed.

Was woken by my crazy brother screaming OMG HAPPY BIRTHDAY over the phone,
and voicemail from mother.
Couldn't go right back to sleep, angsted for a while on how to get both J and I what we wanted,
problem solved, molested Ebay for stuff for us that I'm not telling yet cause he doesn't know.
But I'm very excited about, I still have monies left, and still have birthday monies on the way.
I did good.

Then got picked up by boyperson and girlperson, and they took me to The Melting Pot,
which was eleventy billion kinds of awesometastic.
I've wanted to go there for years, never got around to it so far.
I haven't the words to express how awesome it was.
I wish I had pictures of the fondue but I decided it was a no fon evening,
and besides, my host is still down and I'm hitting the limits of the free flickr account.

Also, I had the first apple martini in this town that rivals the ones xtian use to make me.
It was a fantastic apple martini, fanfuckingtastic.

They also got me awesome t-shirts, which are too small,
but that's kinda overshadowed by the flattery of the idea they thought I could fit into them.
But they're not terribly too small, so I may just keep that size till I do fit.

I'm still not sure what's changed, but I'm rather glad to have
suddenly, apparently, stopped hating my birthday.

Dare I hope this may extend to thanksgiving/xmas?
That would be a very lovely one to get over,
but I suspect I've far more issues attached there, than my birthday.

In closing, for now,
I'm 30, I'm happy, I really couldn't ask for better friends,
possibly back to the doubledown again tonight,
as it's now OUR birthday(the middle day), then J's birthday on Saturday.

Profile

hoveringsombrero: (Default)
hoveringsombrero

January 2015

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 05:39 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios