May. 21st, 2001

home?

May. 21st, 2001 01:23 am
hoveringsombrero: (Default)
i guess this is home anyhow
after the sleeping of the brother called Biff that you see in the previous entry, i also fell asleep.
i awoke all pissed off because i felt like i'd finally gotten in a good place sleep wise and that evil mexican guy was yelling my name, or it seemed like yelling to me because i was happily asleep

so i got dressed and biff and kal and i left the house, first to my father's house because he just re-activated one of the other phone lines in this house for me and all our phones are in storage so he bought us/me a new phone, so we said hi to him and he gave me the phone

then stopped by the bank then to lodi to pay car payment them back to stockton to eat at mongos, while we were eating kal decided that he DID NOT want to drive to go get spanky from the BART station because he drives that road far too much (understandable), so i poked my brother and asked him if he wanted to drive, of course he did.

so we brought kal back home and we went on our way to dublin, we listened to some music and talked about stuff, got stuck in some traffic, then finally got to the BART station, didn't walk nearly all the way into it after parking cause spanky had seen us and was walking out, back into the car and over to the shopping complex around the nearby theatre where there was a Cold Stone ice cream place because my brother had never had it so i wanted to get him some, so he and spanky got some and i ate some of biff's and we walked around and then went into a barnes and noble and biff called mother to tell her he'd be a bit late, and we bought a couple books.

then back to the car, on the way back to the car biff started pushing a shopping cart and then we made spanky get into it, biff pushed him around really fast and spanky screamed and it was funny, so i bitched about the video camera being in the car, so we decided to do it again for the video and spanky's flashy film camera

so we got back to the car and i/we locked the keys in the car, but the drivers side window was slightly open so through a joint effort spanky and biff managed to get the door unlocked, so they posed with the cart and i took a couple pictures with spanky's camera then i took video of spanky being pushed in the cart, then gave the video camera to spanky and he took video from the cart, that's fun cause you can hear his screaming, i nearly died laughing

surprisingly we didn't attract the security guys and no one fucked with us, so off to take brother home we went, with him still driving, and on the way home he started strange rantings so i taped a bunch of that, got to his house and spanky finally met my mother who was all nice and sweet fortunately, then spanky and i came home by way of taco bell and wal-mart

i made him crawl over me to order at the taco bell drive-thru (i wasn't getting anything) then they didn't give him a fork so we went back through again

now home
i'm tired
it was a very fun week other than it being far too hot

oh and we got a barebones system (case motherboard, and separately a processor) to make my desktop all workie again so i'm going to make myself some food and then go finish installing drivers and stuff so i can use it properly

THEN SLEEP!!
hoveringsombrero: (Default)
oh i'm hot
i'm bitchy
i'm annoyed

*holds up a CD*

see this CD? no? well pretend you do, this cd contains all the specific ones and zeros needed to make my new motherboard recognize all it's parts, what happens when i put this cd into the CDRW?
it spits it out.
what happens when i put any cd into the CDRW, that is to say ... the NEW CDRW?
(the NEW CDRW that worked peachy before i might add)
it spits it out

all the cables connected?
yes.
tried reinstalling the drivers?
yes.
am i pretty fucking annoyed?
there isn't a word the expresses a positive enough answer to that question in my current knowledge.

so i'm going to sit here all annoyed and bitchy for a bit
(and hot, i'm melting, wilting for fucks sake)

then i'm going to detach and reconnect the cables to the drive again, and if it still refuses to recognize any cds then i'm taking it out (resisting tossing it across the room) and putting in the plain cdROM

yup

woooohooo!

May. 21st, 2001 07:59 pm
hoveringsombrero: (Default)
CDRW decided it still didn't want to play nice so it's sitting with it's nose in the corner till it learns it's lesson

i put the plain cdROM in and it's working fine, i'm still having getting all drivers installed and windows just being a bitch in general issues (would help if i knew where the hell the win98 cd was or if i'd remembered to take the winME cd with me months ago)

but that's to be expected, just a matter of time and lots of bitching now, no more spitting out of cds

HELP!

May. 21st, 2001 08:37 pm
hoveringsombrero: (Default)
well i tracked down the source of a problem i had before i had to replace my motherboard, the stupid grafix program that came with my thing that's supposed to attach my video camera to my usb port fucked up the display part of windows

it's telling me i either need to reinstall windows (don't know where the disk is) or edit my registry and replace the exact file that's giving me issues, which is would be named Deskw98.cpl on the windows98 CD

so if you've got a windows98 CD, could somebody give me that file?

please?

help?

meep.
hoveringsombrero: (Default)
well i know what the problem is i just don't know if i can fix it
the keys and dirs i see in the registry editor aren't exactly the same as the instructions

so i'm not going to just go gallivanting around in regedit deleting on a whim
i just don't know all that much about the registry to make an educated guess about what i think i should do
well i could make a fairly educated guess, but i don't have faith in my guess enough to go deleting

so i let it be
and i rack my brain trying to think of someone local that would have a 98 disk, or even better a ME disk .. just abandon 98 all together, like i said in response below, 98 has given me nothing but trouble on the desktop

not smart enough to fix it right now
but smart enough to know when to stop before i fuck something up further

YAY!!

May. 21st, 2001 10:55 pm
hoveringsombrero: (Default)
i began intently watching my ICQ contact list for someone local that might have a windows disk to come online, and kal's friend RIOT came online so i talked to him for a bit, asked him if he had a disk, he did, i told him we were at dom's and he asked why then said "hold that thought" and a few mins later walked in the door with a win98 cd

sometimes my life is pretty cool
even though i'm sure it's going to give me problems installing
silly bitch of a computer

Profile

hoveringsombrero: (Default)
hoveringsombrero

January 2015

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 2728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 02:57 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios